Making NetApp ONTAP Deployment Easier

Hi Everyone,

Logwriter here! How are you?

It is another day in the office and I just got a new gear for my performance testing project. Every time I have a new project I need to deploy an ONTAP cluster. It means I have to create aggregates, volumes, LUNs, LIFs, igroups, etc. I also need to create a kind of documentation about how the storage was deployed for the performance testing project.

If it is a recurring task, why not automate it?

I’ve started a personal project that I’ve named as “NetApp Fast Deployment Tool”. Basically, you define your storage deployment in a JSON file and this tool will deploy the environment for you.

One of my current projects is an Oracle Performance Testing on a new NetApp AFF platform. It is an Oracle RAC deployment with 6-nodes, on the NetApp side I have 1 SVM, protocol is FCP,  8 FCP LIFs, 6 igroups (one per RAC node), 20 Volumes and 20 LUNs. This config was deployed in 1 minute.

At the end, my JSON file will work as a documentation about how the storage has been deployed.

You can see a video of the tool in action here. The storage deployment is for a MongoDB environment.

[ WARNING ]  — progressive metal rock as background song, turn down your speaker volume (or turn it up)

How to Install

  1. Download it from GitHub:
  2. Download the NetApp Manageability SDK (NMSDK) for all platforms from NetApp support web site:
  3. Uncompress the NMSDK and copy the python libs NaElement.py and NaServer.py to the netapp-fast-deploy lib directory:
    • cd netapp-manageability-sdk-5.6/lib/python/NetApp
    • cp NaElement.py <NETAPP_FAST_DEPLOY_DIR>/lib
    • cp NaServer.py <NETAPP_FAST_DEPLOY_DIR>/lib

How to Use it

You will find out the instructions about how to use this tool at the GitHub repository page.

Go Further, Faster

If you like it and start using it, I would like to ask you a favor. If you find a bug, please open an issue here. I’ve started this tool to improve my time on my daily tasks, but I’m completely open to add new features and fix possible bugs that you might find on it.

Thanks for reading it and let me know if you have any questions.

See you next post!

Leave a Reply

